What is a Chakra

Chakras have their basis in many cultures and religions and have been around for thousands of years. The word chakra comes from Sanskrit, a historical language of Hinduism and Buddhism, translating to mean “wheel” or “circle”.

A chakra is described as spinning vortex of biophysical energy or “Wheel of Light” that absorbs and transmits universal energy in and out of the body. There are seven main chakras, each positioned at specific points along the spine. Each charka represents a specific gland as well as sub-conscious and conscious states of mind. The chakra system is an integral part in maintaining the overall health and well being of the mind, body and spirit, balancing our “Prana” or “Life Force”.

Why are the Chakra symbols represented as flowers?
Each chakra is depicted as a lotus flower, each with a specific number of petals. The more petals the lotus flower has, the higher the frequency of energy that the chakra is attuned to. For example: The lower chakras have fewer petals, with the crown chakra having 1000 petals. 

The lotus flower represents a doorway to the opening of the universe. Each chakra or lotus flower can be closed, partially open or fully open, reflecting the individual’s inner consciousness and the stage at which they are experiencing in life. As one progresses through life, symbolically the petals of the specific chakra unfold and begin to open, letting the universal energy flow in and out of the chakra. To reach spiritual enlightenment is to have all of the major chakras open and flowing with universal energy, balancing the mind, body & spirit. It can take several life times to fully open the 1000 petals of your crown chakra and reach spiritual enlightenment. 

Chakra Crystals
There are crystals that relate to each of the chakras. These can be placed on the body or worn as jewellery to help activate, heal and balance the corresponding chakra. Crystals are highly sensitive to absorbing energy and feelings, and are therefore excellent in assisting the energy flow of the chakras. The crystals for each chakra are usually chosen for their colour and their metaphysical properties. We have given an indication of these below, however it is always best to use the crystal that you feel best resonates with you and your energy.

Seven Major Chakras

base chakra
Base or Root Chakra
Sanskrit: Muladahra “Support”
Lotus Petals: 4 petals
Colour: RED
Crystals: Red Japser, Smoky Quartz, Hematite, Garnet
Located: The base of the spinal cord 
Gland: Adrenals

The base Chakra is associated with your survival and animal instincts, the flight or fight response as well as grounding you to the earth plane. Is said to be the chakra with which you can grow roots into the ground to receive energy and ground yourself to Mother Earth and your physical reality.

Sacral Chakra
Sacral Chakra
Sanskrit: Swadhisthana “Home of the Life Force”
Lotus Petals: 6 petals
Colour: ORANGE 
Crystals: Carnelian, Citrine (dark), Orange Calcite, Topaz 
Located: At the level of the sacrum 
Gland: Ovaries/Prostate

The Sacral Chakra is associated with how you perceive the world around you, such as your ability to connect to people, nature, material objects and the universe. It directly affects how we perceive the world based on our individual experiences. It is also associated with ones sexuality.

Solar Plexus Chakra
Solar Plexus Chakra
Sanskrit: Manipura “Jewel of the Naval”
Lotus Petals: 10 petals
Colour: YELLOW
Crystals: Tiger Eye, Citrine, Malachite
Located: One inch above the naval
Gland: Pancreas

The Solar Plexus is associated with how you perceive yourself, and is strongly connected to your relationships and emotions. How you perceive yourself deeply effects the way people perceive and interact with you. It is your seat of personal power.

Heart Chakra
Heart Chakra
Sanskrit: Anahata “Home of the Soul”
Lotus Petals: 12 petals
Colour: GREEN
Crystals: Rose Quartz, Aventurine, Green Jade, Peridot
Located: Centre of the chest in line with the heart
Gland: Thymus

The Heart chakra is associated with love and compassion, it is said to be the seat of the soul or the divine. When we can approach all aspects of life with true love and compassion it can be said that we have reached a true state of Nirvana or Enlightenment.

Throat Chakra
Throat Chakra
Sanskrit: Vishudda “Pure”
Lotus Petals: 16 petals
Colour: BLUE
Crystals: Blue Quartz, Sodalite, Aquamarine, Blue Topaz 
Located: The throat area
Gland: Thyroid

The Throat chakra is associated with communication and personal truth. It gives us the willpower to follow our true desires whilst maintaining the aspects of truth and integrity. It is also the seat of expression and freewill.

Third Eye Chakra
Third Eye Chakra
Sanskrit: Ajna “Command” 
Lotus Petals: 96 petals 
Colour: PURPLE 
Crystals: Amethyst, Lapis Lazuli, Fluorite 
Located: Centre of the forehead just above the brow
Gland: Pineal

The third eye is associated with mental concepts and inner sight of non-physical concepts such as clairvoyance, dreaming, intuition and inner knowing. It gives us the ability to view the world of the non-physical and is the connection to our deepest self or soul.

Crown Chakra
Crown Chakra
Sanskrit: Sahasrara “Thousand” 
Lotus Petals: 1000 petals
Colour: WHITE
Crystals: Clear Quartz, Amethyst, Sugilite, Celestite
Located: Top of the head
Gland: Pituitary gland

The crown is associated with universal energy and spirituality. It is the seat with which one realizes the interconnectedness of all living things. It gives us knowledge and wisdom and enables us to connect with our own divinity becoming one with the whole universe.

The chakras present humanity with a unique opportunity to visualize the life energy within the body. Each and every person has a unique ability to intemperate the world as he or she chooses in doing so the levels of energy each chakra absorbs is distinctly different as is each individual. The chakras can be seen as growth points of the individual’s spiritual journey.

Life is but a journey of self discovery.